Skip to main content

Strategic Finance Consultants

Dr. Kent John Chabotar is President of Guilford College.  From 1991 to 2002, Kent was Vice President for Finance and Administration and Treasurer at Bowdoin College.  Previously, Kent was on the Faculty of Education at the Harvard Graduate School of Education (1982-1991). He serves as Treasurer of the Board of Directors of the Council on Independent Colleges (CIC), as a member of the Executive Council of the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), and on several non-profit boards of directors. 

Dr. Ellen-Earle Chaffee is Senior Fellow for the Association of Governing Boards of Colleges and Universities (AGB), and director of its Lumina Foundation funded project on Governance for Student Success. She was president of Valley City State University from 1993 to 2008. From 1993 until 2002, she was also president of Mayville State University.  Recently, she has been President in Residence at Harvard University.  A trustee since 2002, Chaffee chaired the board of a $1 billion health care system, guiding its 50/50 merger with another $1 billion health care system.

Dr. R. Barbara Gitenstein is President of The College of New Jersey.  Previously she was provost and executive vice president of Drake University. She currently serves as a Commissioner for Middle States Commission on Higher Education and as a member of the Association of Governing Boards (AGB) Council of Presidents.  She has chaired numerous organizations and committees including the New Jersey Association of State Colleges and Universities President’s Council and the Quality and Reputation subcommittee of the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education’s Long-Range Plan Steering Committee.

Larry Isaak is President of Capella University.  Previously, he was President of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC).  Larry was also the chancellor of the North Dakota University System for nearly ten years.  He has worked in the North Dakota Office of Management & Budget serving both as acting director and as the state executive budget analyst. He served as the assistant legislative budget analyst and auditor for the North Dakota Legislative Council.  Larry has served as chair of the State Higher Education Executive Officers (SHEEO) and as a commissioner to both the Midwestern Higher Education Compact and the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education.

Dennis P. Jones is President of the National Center for Higher Education Management Systems (NCHEMS), a nonprofit research and development center founded to improve strategic decision-making in institutions and agencies of higher education.  He has been on staff since 1969.  Prior to joining NCHEMS, Mr. Jones served as an administrator (in business and in institutional planning) at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. 

Dr. Thomas C. Longin is the former vice president for programs and research for the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB).  Prior to joining AGB, he served for 12 years as provost of Ithaca College and for three years as vice president for academic affairs at Seattle University.  He was dean of the School of Humanities and Sciences at Ithaca College from 1976 until 1982, and before that a faculty member at Ithaca College, Virginia Tech and Carroll College.

Dr. Kenneth (Buzz) A. Shaw recently retired as Chancellor of Syracuse University.  He has served as a university president for nearly 30 years. Prior to joining Syracuse in 1991, Shaw was President of the University of Wisconsin System, Chancellor of the Southern Illinois University System from 1979 to 1986, President of Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville from 1977 to 1979, and Vice President and Dean of the University at Towson State University from 1969 to 1977.

Richard Staisloff is principal, rpk GROUP.  Previously he was Vice President for Finance and Administration at the College of Notre Dame of Maryland.  Prior to joining Notre Dame, Mr. Staisloff served four years at Carroll Community College, where he helped lead the creation of this independent college.  From 1992 to 1994, Mr. Staisloff acted as a Finance Policy Analyst for the Maryland Higher Education Commission.  Finally, he served with the Maryland General Assembly, House Committee on Ways and Means, focusing on education and taxation issues. 

Jane Wellman is founder and Executive Director of the Delta Project on Postsecondary Costs, Productivity and Accountability.  The Delta Project’s mission is to improve productivity in higher education through more effective management of resources without compromising student access or quality.  Wellman has served as a Senior Associate with the Institute for Higher Education, was Vice President for Government Relations with the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU), Deputy Director of the California Postsecondary Education Commission, and staff director of the California Assembly Ways and Means Committee.



Click here to chat with the member concierge