Skip to main content

AGB Advisory Council on HBCU Governance and Leadership

This council advises AGB on matters pertaining to governance at HBCUs and plays an important role in creating a national dialogue on governance and the future of HBCUs.

Karen Bearden
Board Chair, Kentucky State University
Consultant, AGB

Ron Carter
President, Johnson C. Smith University

Freeman Hrabowski
President, University of Maryland Baltimore County

Yvonne Jackson
Board Chair, AGB Board of Directors
Trustee, Simmons College
Life Trustee, Spelman College

Jim Lyons
President, University of the District of Columbia

Joyce Roche
Board Chair, Dillard University
Board Member, AGB Board of Directors

Kevin Rome
President, Lincoln University (MO)

Alvin Schexnider
Former Chancellor, Winston-Salem State University
Consultant, AGB

Walter Sutton
Board Chair, Wiley College

Charlie Nelms
Former Chancellor, North Carolina Central University
Consultant, AGB

Terence Murchison
Former Board Member, Fayetteville State University
Consultant, AGB



Click here to chat with the member concierge