Skip to main content


Council of Presidents

The Council of Presidents is a standing advisory group of college, university, and system chief executives who provide guidance to the association on issues, trends, and practices related to higher education and citizen trusteeship. Council members are eminent professional leaders in higher education and are highly knowledgeable about the roles, responsibilities, and practices of effective governance. The council meets annually.


Paul J. LeBlanc
Southern New Hampshire University

Vice Chair

M. Roy Wilson
Wayne State University


Jonathan R. Alger
James Madison University

Michael T. Benson
Eastern Kentucky University

Mary Schmidt Campbell
Spelman College

Robert L. Caret
University System of Maryland

Garrey Carruthers
New Mexico State University

Clayton Christian
Montana University System

Shirley M. Collado
Ithaca College

Raymond E. Crossman
Adler University

Elizabeth Davis
Furman University

Fernando León García
CETYS University System

Antoine M. Garibaldi
University of Detroit Mercy

Maria Harper-Marinick
Maricopa County Community Colleges

Marjorie Hass
Rhodes College

Beverly Wade Hogan
Tougaloo College

Glen D. Johnson
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education

Renu Khator
University of Houston System

Kwang-Wu Kim
Columbia College Chicago

Raynard Kington
Grinnell College

Wendy B. Libby
Stetson University

Brian McCall
Texas State University System

Frederik Ohles
Nebraska Wesleyan University

Suzanne Shipley
Midwestern State University

Barbara R. Snyder
Case Western Reserve University

Jill Tiefenthaler
Colorado College

Timothy P. White
The California State University System

Steve Wrigley
University System of Georgia



Click here to chat with the member concierge