Skip to main content


Council of Presidents

The Council of Presidents is a standing advisory group of college, university, and system chief executives who provide guidance to the association on issues, trends, and practices related to higher education and citizen trusteeship. Council members are eminent professional leaders in higher education and are highly knowledgeable about the roles, responsibilities, and practices of effective governance. The council meets annually.


Paul J. LeBlanc
Southern New Hampshire University

Vice Chair

M. Roy Wilson
Wayne State University



Charles M. Ambrose
University of Central Missouri

Michael T. Benson
Eastern Kentucky University

Frank T. Brogan
Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education

Robert L. Caret
University System of Maryland

Garrey Carruthers
New Mexico State University

Clayton Christian
Montana University System

Elizabeth Davis
Furman University

Charlene M. Dukes
Prince George’s Community Colleges

Donald R. Eastman, III
Eckerd College

Fernando León García
CETYS University System

Antoine M. Garibaldi
University of Detroit Mercy

Maria Harper-Marinick
Maricopa County Community Colleges

Marjorie Hass
Rhodes College

John C. Hitt
University of Central Florida

Beverly Wade Hogan
Tougaloo College

Glen D. Johnson
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education

Renu Khator
University of Houston System

Kwang-Wu Kim
Columbia College Chicago

Raynard Kington
Grinnell College

Elizabeth Kiss
Agnes Scott College

John R. Kroger
Reed College

Brian McCall
Texas State University System

Frederik Ohles
Nebraska Wesleyan University

Suzanne Shipley
Midwestern State University

Barbara R. Snyder
Case Western Reserve University

Steve Wrigley
University System of Georgia

Nancy L. Zimpher
The State University of New York



Click here to chat with the member concierge