Skip to main content

Commission Members

Honorable Philip Bredesen
Chair; Governor Tennessee (2003-2011)

Richard D. Legon
ex officio President
Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges

Roberta Achtenberg
Member and Former Chair Board of Trustees
California State University

Gloria Aparicio Blackwell
Member, Board of Trustees
Montgomery College (Maryland)

Molly Corbett Broad
American Council on Education

Patrick Callan
Higher Education Policy Institute

John Casteen, III
President Emeritus
University of Virginia

Kent John Chabotar
Professor of Political Science and Retired President
Guilford College

Richard Chait
Professor Emeritus
Harvard Graduate School of Education

Mary Graham Davis
Chair, Board of Trustees
Mount Holyoke College

José Fernández
Member, Board of Trustees
University of Notre Dame

Honorable James E. Geringer
Co-Founder and Chair, Board of Trustees
Western Governors University

William E. (Brit) Kirwan
University of Maryland System

Albert Maury
Chair, Board of Trustees
Florida International University

Charles Miller
Former Chair, Board of Regents
University of Texas

Scott Pattison
Executive Director
National Association of State Budget Officers

Martin Payson
Trustee Emeritus
Howard University and Tulane University

Russell Ramsey
Chairman Emeritus
George Washington University

John W. Rogers, Jr.
Board Member
University of Chicago

Gary Rhoades
Professor and Head Center for the Study of Higher Education
University of Arizona

Ann Daley Ryherd
Former Executive Director
Washington Higher Education Coordinating Board

Alex Shumate
Member and Chair, Governance Committee, Board of Trustees
The Ohio State University

Jeffrey Sonnenfeld
Senior Associate Dean, Yale School of Management, and Founder
Chief Executive Leadership Institute

James Stern
Chairman Emeritus, Board of Trustees
Tufts University

William Trueheart
President and Chief Executive Officer
Achieving the Dream

Georgia Yuan
Former General Counsel and Secretary of the Corporation
Smith College
Former Deputy Undersecretary
U.S. Department of Education



Click here to chat with the member concierge